Alaska maintains divorce records as part of other vital records like births, deaths, marriages and death. The divorce records are stored at the Bureau of Vital Statistics Office in the state. These records are being maintained from January 1950, and a copy of the case may be obtained from the state office for a fee.
Divorce records have become extremely essential these days. Anyone who does not verify his or her potential partner’s background before getting married is open to a lot of risk. How long have you known the person you are thinking of marrying? Perhaps the person was married before. Perhaps the person has applied for a divorce but is not yet divorced. There can be so many possibilities. Sometimes people also manage to get a fake divorce decree from somewhere. In this case, no one would ever suspect the individual. It is best not to take a chance, and to find out yourself, particularly when you can ask for the divorce records legally because the information stored is in the public domain. By marrying someone who is already married and not yet divorced, you may be entering into a legal problem.
At times, people might look for divorce records for information so that they can develop their family tree.
To obtain the divorce records, you need to contact the state Bureau of Vital Statistics. The address of the office is as follows:
Alaska Department of Health and Social Services
Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 110675
Phone Number: 907-465-3391
Fax Number: 907-46-3618
Divorce records may also be obtained from the court that issued the divorce decree. If you know the county where the divorce was granted, you can approach the superior court in that county. However, if you are not sure about the county, you need to approach the state office.
When you want to obtain divorce records in Alaska, you must make an application, and send it over to the state office of vital records. The application should be short and concise. It should contain all the relevant information that is needed to search for the divorce record.
When you are filing an application, you need to attach a copy of your picture ID. The copy must be signed. You can also fax your mail request. Or you can email it. And of course, you can always walk into the office to make your application.
Alaska charges a fee of $25 for certified copies. For additional copies, $20 is charged.
It takes about 2 to 3 weeks to process the request if you have applied by mail. If you wish to avail the rush service, you might need to pay a little more. If you do this, your application will be processed within 3 working days. But do remember that when there is a lot of pressure, the processing time may be more.
A divorce Certificate simply indicates who were the people divorced, when it happened, and where the divorce was granted. You cannot obtain more details because the privacy of the people concerned is also protected by law.
To retrieve copies of Alaska divorce decrees, follow the instructions below:
Download and complete the Alaska Divorce Certificate Form.
Read all instructions, then complete the necessary information, including husband and wife names, divorce date and city, and the purpose of your request.
Mail or fax your form to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics along with a $20.00 fee to the address below. Payment can be made by check, money order, or credit card number.
Should you need additional information, contact the office whose contact details are listed below:
Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 110675
Juneau, AK 99801-0675
Phone: (907) 465-3391
Fax: (907) 465-3618
Where To Request Copies of Alaska Divorce Records
Alaska divorce records are confidential vital records stored at the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics, a division of the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services. As a confidential record, divorce certificates are available only to the parties listed on the divorce record or a legal representative. However, after 50 years, the divorce event becomes a public record and can be accessed by anyone.
How to Order Divorce Records
Alaska does not process online orders for divorce records. However, the state has partnered with VitalCheck.com to process orders online. All online orders must still present proper ID directly to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Data Needed to Request Alaska Divorce Records
Divorce certificate requests must be made via the proper form listed below, and they should include the full name of the husband and wife, date and city of divorce, purpose of request, and a $20 fee.