Divorce is always emotionally charged, and can lead to a lot of mud-slinging, charges and counter-charges, and a lot of misery not only for the couple, but also to their respective families, as well. However, in spite of this, the cases of divorce are going up. This is true in the state of Louisiana, as well. More than a million cases are being reported every year. In Louisiana too, a lot of men and women are seeking divorce, and the database is getting fatter every day.
To get a copy of the Louisiana divorce record, you need to follow these simple steps.
First, you need to determine where precisely the divorce was filed in the state. Do remember that the Clerk of Court in the parish is the only place from where a certified divorce decree of a particular county will be available. Find out the specific request procedure for a certified divorce record by contacting the Clerk's office at the parish. This is where the record is kept. Fill out the application form. Sign it, and send it to,
Along with your application form, you need to send $12.00 as search fees. This is the amount that you need to pay while ordering by mail. However, if you place your request over the phone, fax or Internet, it is possible that the charges might be more. This money is nonrefundable even if the search cannot give you the information you seek. If the form is incomplete or the signature is missing, then the request will not be processed. It might be possible that the office maintains a record from before the date you have mentioned, so it is good to ask anyway. You have nothing to lose other than the $12.00.
The information here is in the public domain, and so you have the right to ask for it. However, there are certain conditions imposed that you should know about when you are applying to procure the record. Once you fulfill these conditions, you will obtain the divorce record.
The divorce certificate might be issued to the requester or respondent whose name is mentioned on the divorce document or direct relatives such as parents, siblings, children, grandparents or current spouses. However, you should be able to produce copies of your government issued and authenticated identification to show that you are related to the person on the divorce document, or be able to show a legitimate and legal need to access the record. Without proper identifications, your request might not be processed.
It is in the public domain, and so, you can ask for it. However, there is also the FoIA or the Freedom of Information Act to safeguard the person's privacy. The state also agrees that a person has the right to privacy. So, while you can find out whether the divorce was granted or not, but you cannot know the details such as the reasons cited, the alimony amount, decisions about child custody and support, asset and liability division and others like this.
To request certified Louisiana divorce decrees, please follow these instructions:
You must first determine where the divorce was filed in Louisiana. Certified divorce decrees are only available from the Clerk of Court in the parish where the divorce was filed.
Go to the Louisiana Clerks of Court website to determine the proper office to contact.
Contact the Clerk of Court office in the parish where the divorce record is maintained to find out their specific request procedure for a certified divorce record.
For more information on Louisiana Clerks of Court, visit the following website:
Where to Find Louisiana Divorce Records
The State of Louisiana does not maintain a central registry of divorce records. All original divorce decrees are filed and maintained in the parish where the divorce was filed.
Information Needed to Obtain a Certified Divorce Decree
Anyone wishing to obtain a certified copy of a divorce decree must contact the specific Clerk of Court in the parish where the divorce was filed. Request procedures and fees may differ from parish to parish.
Restrictions for Requesting Louisiana Divorce Records
Identification requirements may also differ for each Louisiana parish. Be prepared to produce copies of your government-issued identification to show that you are related to the parties on the divorce document, or show a legitimate and legal need for the record.