Has it ever crossed your mind whether your divorcee live-in partner or your fiance is still married or not? Have you ever considered running a background check on your partner’s records before you got hitched to him/her? It is always advisable to run a thorough check on your fiancé/fiancée as there are instances where people claim to be divorced, when in reality, they are not.
Tennessee divorce records are stored at the repository and are meant for both public and government reference and are also for information purposes. The Freedom of Information Act was passed in 1966 to ensure that anyone who wants to, and is eligible, can have access to these records. However, you might not get a copy of the divorce decree. But, you can get a confirmation about whether the divorce has indeed been granted or not, and the date of divorce and the county from where it was granted.
Please keep in mind that you must furnish some information to get this record. The information you must submit is – the full name of the divorced person, the place and date of the divorce, the decree type, your relationship with the person concerned, and the reason why you want the record retrieved. Also, do not forget to inform the office your name, address including zip code, email, and phone number. You must also provide a valid photo identity proof.
The records are usually maintained by the county office, where the divorce was granted. You can approach this office directly, but if you are unsure about the county, then you can approach the state office. The office will re-direct your request to the county.
For accessing Tennessee divorce records, please contact:
Tennessee Vital Records
Central Services Building, 1st Floor
421 5th Avenue North
Nashville, TN 37247
Fax: (615) 741-9860
Send a check or money order payable to Tennessee Vital Records. Once you place a request, be ready to wait for 3 to 5 weeks.
The service is not free. Divorce record fees are $15.00 for searching the database of the last 50 years. Remember, this is nonrefundable, even if no record can be found. The fee is $5.00 for each additional copy of the record. The Vital Records Office keeps the records for up to 50 years after which, it is sent to the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
To access divorce records, you can write a letter, walk-in with your request, you can call up the office, or even send a fax.
You can learn whether the divorce was granted or not, and if yes, then you can learn about the date, as well. Information on the details is denied though. You cannot know the cause of divorce, how the child custody and visitation rights were settled, how the asset and liabilities were divided and such others. All such information is protected because the state wants to honor the person's right to privacy.
To request a Tennessee divorce certificate, please follow the instructions below:
First, download the Certified Copy of Certificate of Divorce or Annulment application.
Follow all the instruction and guidelines for completing the form. Include the full names of the husband and wife, date and place of divorce, your relationship to the parties on the divorce, and your contact information. Be sure to make a legible copy of your acceptable ID.
Mail the finished application to the address below with a check or money order for $15.
Send your completed request form to:
Tennessee Dept of Health
Office of Vital Records
421 5th Ave North
1st Floor, Central Services Building
Nashville, TN 37243
About Tennessee Divorce Records
Vital records of important events, such as divorce, marriage, birth, and death, are registered and maintained at the state level with the Vital Records office. Certified copies of divorce records from the last 50 years may be requested through this office. Records 50 years old and older are kept at the Tennessee Library and Archives.
Who May Obtain a Tennessee Divorce Record?
There are certain restrictions for obtaining a certified copy of a divorce record. Only persons listed on the divorce, certain immediate family members, or legal representatives may place a request.
Online Orders for Divorce Records
Tennessee has partnered with VitalCheck to allow online orders. Proper ID is still required, and additional fees apply.