Marriage is one of the most significant events in a person's life, and so is divorce. The US state of Vermont realizes this too and maintains all records of both marriages and divorces. In fact, there is a legal binding on the state, like other states of the country to do this because it falls under Vital Records. According to laws, the state is also obliged to share the divorce records when a person makes an application asking for it. This is because divorce records are in the public domain.
The state of Vermont maintains divorce records, and shares it with the people. Earlier, divorce records were difficult to obtain, but now, with the data maintained efficiently and uploaded regularly to a centralized database, it has become much easier.
Divorce records are often needed for a variety of reasons. Those who are planning to get married again might have to furnish proof that they have got legally separated, and those who want to check the marital status of their would be husbands or wives may want to be sure that the other person is actually legally divorced as claimed. Then there are the family historians who need access for their genealogy research.
The state Department of Health is responsible for maintaining divorce records for 5 years from the date on which the divorce was granted. After this, the records are sent to the State Archives and Records Administration dept.
To obtain the divorce record, you need to file an application with the state's Department of Health. You may mail you application to the office at the following address:
Vermont Department of Health,
Vital Records section,
P. O. Box 1000
Phone Number: (802) 863-7275
A check or money order must be included with the application if you need a certified copy. However, if you only need to verify whether the divorce has occurred or not, you don't need to pay any fee. For a certified copy, the fee is $10.00.
It is essential to provide some important information when you are placing your request to the state office. The information you provide will help in the searching. Do also remember to keep your application short and precise. You must furnish the full name of the husband and wife including nicknames if any, the probable date of their divorce, the place, their last known address, and such others. You must also provide your name, address, phone number, and a valid photo identification proof so that you can be contacted when the records are found. You must also specify your relationship with the divorced person, and your purpose for accessing the record.
There is an alternative method, using which; you can also find the record you want. You can approach private websites for this; there are quite a few of them now. The record can be found quickly for a fee. However, private websites cannot give you the decree.
To obtain a Vermont divorce certificate, follow the instructions below:
First, fill out the Divorce Certificate Request form from the Department of Health website. Include all pertinent information, including the husband and wife's full name, final date of divorce, and county of divorce. Include your contact information, relationship, and purpose for the request.
Print the page on your local printer and sign at the bottom of the form.
Return the form to the address below with a check or money order for $10. Please keep in mind the Department will not accept cash.
Send the application to:
Vermont Department of Health
PO Box 70
Burlington, VT 05402-0070
About Vermont Divorce Records
Since 1857, the State of Vermont Department of Health has been tracking and maintaining vital event records, including divorce records. After a divorce is filed in the county court and once finalized, the County Clerk sends the certificate to the Health Department for filing.
How to Order an Older Vermont Divorce Record
Divorce records are only kept on file with the Department of Health for 5 years, after which they are sent to the State Archives and Records Administration. Any request for a divorce record prior to 2004 must go directly to the Archives office, or to the Town Clerk's office where the divorce was finalized.
Who May Order Vermont Divorce Records?
To order a divorce record, you must state your relationship and purpose for requesting the document. Only authorized family members may be granted a Vermont divorce certificate.