Alaska marriage records are maintained by the Alaska bureau of vital statistics.
By law, in Alaska all marriage records are confidential until they become public records. Marriages and divorces don't become public records until 50 years after the event takes place. Once they are public record, anyone can gain access to them after paying the fee.
The bride or groom may obtain a certified copy of their marriage certificate.
A marriage certificate can also be obtained by an attorney representing the person named on the certificate. Any person must present a tangible and necessary interest when requesting a marriage certificate that is not their own unless it has become a public record.
Any person requesting a marriage certificate must present a copy of a government issued picture ID. Acceptable forms of identification include: a driver's license, U.S. or foreign passport, or military ID. All forms of ID must not be expired. Any ID that is expired will not be accepted.
The first copy of a marriage certificate is $25.00 and additional copies are $20 for each copy of the same record ordered at the same time. The Bureau of Vital statistics charges a search fee for Alaska marriage records. When an order is processed, the first record search fee is non-refundable. If you order more than one copy and the marriage record is not found, the fees for the extra copies will be refunded. Currently there is no established limit on how many copies may be requested at one time.
The state of Alaska also provides Heirloom certificates. Requests for these special certificates may take several weeks to process. It should be noted that most governmental agencies will not accept an heirloom marriage certificate as proof of marriage. The first copy of an heirloom marriage certificate is $60 and additional copies are $55 dollars each. Fees for heirloom certificates will go to the Alaska Children's Fund.
There are no blood tests or physical exams required to be married in the State of Alaska. You are also not required to be a resident of Alaska to receive a marriage license.
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may be required to show proof of age. An exception to this rule will apply to those persons who are members of the armed forces of the United States and on active duty. Military papers may be required to show proof of active duty.
Marriage licenses issued in Alaska are valid for three months. If the marriage ceremony is not performed within three months the license will no longer be valid. Refunds and extensions will not be granted.
There is a three day waiting period after a marriage license is issued. Once the license is issued the couple must wait at least three business days before a marriage ceremony can be performed.
If you would like to retrieve a copy of an Alaska marriage certificate, follow these steps:
Download and fill out the Alaska Marriage Certificate Form.
Read the instructions carefully and complete the form with the outlined information, including bride and groom names as they would be listed on the certificate, ceremony location, date, and why you are placing this request.
Once your form is completed, you can either fax or mail the application to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics. Make sure you include a $20.00 fee, which can be provided via personal check, credit card, or money order.
If you need additional assistance, the following department can help you:
Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 110675
Juneau, AK 99801-0675
Phone: (907) 465-3391
Fax: (907) 465-3618
Where To Access Alaska Marriage Records
Alaska marriage records are kept at the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics, a division of the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services. Vital statistics in Alaska are kept strictly confidential until they become public. Marriage records are only available to the general public 50 years after the event. Otherwise, only a bride or groom listed on the certificate, or a legal representative, may request a copy of the license via mail or fax, or in person at the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Obtaining Marriage Records Online
Alaska does not accept online requests for marriage records. However, the state works with VitalCheck.com to facilitate online requests for marriage records. Keep in mind, however, that you must still show appropriate ID process directly to the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics, even if you utilize the online request method.
Information Required to Access Alaska Marriage Records
All marriage certificate requests must complete the proper form listed below, as well as include the full name of the bride and groom as listed on the certificate, date of the ceremony and place of marriage, purpose of request, and a $20 fee.