The Arizona Department of Health maintains birth and death certificates but they do not keep Arizona marriage records. If a marriage takes place in Arizona, marriage records are kept by the clerk of the Superior Court in the county where the marriage took place. There are fifteen counties in the state of Arizona. Each county has its own rules for keeping Arizona marriage records. The Following are two examples of counties and their rules when it comes to applying for marriage licenses and marriage records.
To apply for a marriage license at the clerk's office in Mohave County, both the bride and groom must be present. They each must have proper identification and proof of age. Both applicants must be 18 years of age or older. Minors, who are 17 years old or younger, must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who can give consent for their child to marry.
Applicants are not required to be residents of the State of Arizona to obtain a marriage license. However, the ceremony must take place in the state of Arizona. Witnesses are not required at the time of receiving a license, but state law does require that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony. Each witness must be at least 18 years of age. Minors are not accepted as witnesses.
In Arizona, after the marriage license is issued, the couple will have up to one year for the ceremony to be performed. The license will expire after one year. There is a non-refundable fee of $72 which is to be paid at the time of application. Marriage licenses can also be applied for by mail.
If you need a copy of your marriage license, you may send a request to the Clerk of the Superior Court, together with a fee of $26 and a self addressed, stamped envelope. The full names of each party of the marriage must be given.
Couples can obtain a marriage license from the clerk's office of the Apache county Superior Court. Marriage licenses may also be obtained at any of the following Justice Courts in Puerco, Chiinle, or Round Valley.
Both parties must present valid picture identification when applying for a marriage license. Each party will be asked to sign an affidavit affirming their identity. The fee for a marriage license in Apache County is $72.
A parent must accompany any minor wishing to be married. A notarized statement of permission must be signed by the parent in order to receive the marriage license. After the ceremony has taken place, the bottom portion of the signed marriage license must be returned to the Clerk's Office
Certified copies of marriage licenses recorded in Apache County are available from the Clerk's Office for a $26 certification fee. If the clerk is required to perform a search to find the marriage license, there will be another $26 fee charged.
To receive a copy of an Arizona marriage certificate, follow the instructions below:
Visit one of the Customer Service Centers located in Phoenix, Mesa, or Surprise. Addresses can be found on the Clerk of the Superior Court website.
A mailed request may be made to the address below. Include the full legal names of the bride and groom prior to the marriage, as well as a business-sized self-addressed stamped envelope.
Include a check or money order for mail requests in the amount of $26.50, or pay by credit card in person at a customer service center.
Should you desire more information, contact the Customer Service Center below:
Arizona Clerk of the Superior Court
201 West Jefferson
Phoenix, AZ 85003
Phone: (602) 506-3360
About Arizona Marriage Records
The State of Arizona maintains most vital records in the Office of Vital Records of the Department of Health Services. However, if you want to retrieve Arizona marriage records or other official court records, then these can be obtained through the Clerk of the Superior Court in the appropriate county. Arizona laws permit anyone from the general public to obtain a copy of any marriage license.
Retrieving Arizona Marriage Records
The public may obtain a certified copy of a marriage license by going to the customer service center of the Clerk of the Superior Court at the address listed below. A certified copy may be obtained via mail with a written request and a $26.50 fee along with a business-sized self-addressed stamped envelope, or an extra $7 handling fee in lieu of a SASE.
Arizona Marriage Record Information Requirements
Your request for a marriage certificate will be expedited if you have the full legal name of the bride and groom prior to the marriage, and the year the marriage took place. Fees are $26.50 and payable by check or money order, or by credit card if made in person.