The Vital Records department of the Colorado Department of Public Health keeps official documentation of marriages that occur in the state of Colorado. Authorized and certified copies of these documents are helpful to individuals for purposes of showing proof of age, applying for citizenship, qualifying for insurances benefits, etc.
Colorado marriage records are available from the state vital records office for the years 1900 to 1939, and the years 1975 to present. For marriage records for the years 1940-1974 you may contact the county where the marriage license was obtained.
In compliance with state law, only certain individuals may request copies of marriage certificates. Theses people include: the person named on the record, members of the immediate family, legal representatives of the person named on the document and persons conducting official business. Applicants requesting copies of marriage certificates are required to show proof of their relationship to the person named on the document or show documents that establish their legal interest in obtaining such Colorado marriage records.
A fee of $17 is charged for the first copy of a marriage certificate. There is an additional charge of $10 for each additional copy that is ordered at the same time. The state of Colorado also provides an Heirloom copy of marriage certificates. There is a longer waiting period for an heirloom copy of a marriage certificate. The fee for an Heirloom copy is $50.
A marriage license may be obtained in any county of the state of Colorado. The license may be issued on the same day the application is received and it may be used immediately to perform a wedding ceremony. However, the ceremony must take place within thirty days or the license will become expired. Applicants need not be residents of Colorado to receive a marriage license.
Applicants for a marriage license must be at least 18 years of age in order to be married without parental consent Applicants who are 16 and 17 years of age must have consent from each parent or a parent who has sole custody of the child. If a parent claims to have sole custody he or she will be required to sign a statement to this fact.
Both parties to be married must appear in person to complete and sign the marriage license application. If one party cannot appear that person must obtain an absentee application from the county clerk's office. The party applying must present the absentee application accompanied by identification for the absent party. The state also requires that the absentee applications be notarized.
Applicants will be required to show proof of age. The following forms of identification are acceptable: Drivers License, Visa, Passport, Military ID, or state issued ID Card. Each applicant must also provide a valid social security number in order to receive a marriage license.
If either party has been married before, he or she must provide information regarding the previous marriage, such as the date of divorce or what state and county the event took place in.
The following steps will help you obtain a Colorado marriage certificate:
Download and complete the Colorado Application for Certified Verification of Marriage Record.
Complete the form, including the names of groom and bride, date and county of marriage, as well as the reason you are making the request. You will need to identify your relationship to the bride or groom, as well as provide proof of your state-issued ID to establish your identity.
Apply in person at the Colorado State Vital Records office, or mail in the form, along with a $17.00 fee, which you can pay by check, money order, or credit card information. If you are submitting your information by fax, you can pay only via credit card.
If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact the following department:
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Vital Records Section
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530
Phone: (303) 692-2200
Fax: (866) 559-9636
How to Retrieve Colorado Marriage Records
Marriage records for a limited time span are maintained by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment Vital Records Section. Marriage records for the entire state can be requested from this office for years 1900 to 1939, as well as from 1975 to the present. For marriage records in all other years, you must present your request directly to the County Clerk or County Recorder in which the marriage took place.
Who Can Access Colorado Marriage Documents?
If you would like to obtain a certified marriage document, then you will need to establish proof of relationship. Certified copies of marriage certificates may be issued to the bride or groom listed on the certificate or to direct relatives. If there is a tangible interest that is validated, then ex-spouses, in-laws, other relatives, and legal representatives can also secure certified copies. However, state-issued ID must be provided in all of these instances.
Ordering Colorado Marriage Records Online
Online requests are not made through the Vital Records office, but rather through a partnership through VitalCheck.com. Keep in mind that there will be extra fees associated with online requests.