Delaware marriage records are maintained by the three counties in the state of Delaware: Sussex County, New Castle County and Kent County. The state of Delaware keeps detailed statistics on marriages such as marriages by race, number of marriages in each year, number of marriages by place of ceremony, etc.
Sussex County, New Castle County, and Kent County, generally have the same rules for obtaining copies of marriage licenses or certificates. However each county may vary slightly when it comes to procedures of issuing marriage licenses and certified copies of Delaware marriage records.
Certified copies of marriage records are helpful to individuals when they need proof of age, applying for citizenship, applying for insurance benefits, etc.
In the state of Delaware certified copies of marriage records are only issued to the bride and groom. However, an attorney or person with power of attorney can request a copy of a marriage certificate on behalf of the groom or bride. Any Delaware marriage record that is 40 years old or older automatically becomes a matter of public record and may be purchased by any individual. The fee for a copy of a marriage certificate is $25.
In Delaware the following forms of ID are required in order to receive a copy of a marriage certificate.
In Delaware the couple must come together in person to apply for the marriage license. Each party must be at least 18 years old. Minors will have to petition the court for permission to marry.
Each party must present a valid form of identification such as a Drivers License, Passport or Military ID. In some instances an additional document such as a birth certificate or social security card may be required.
Neither party can be under the influence of alcohol or drugs at the time of application. There is no requirement for applicants to take a blood test to be married in the state of Delaware. Special authorization is required if either party is on probation or parole.
Marriage licenses issued in Delaware are valid for 30 days. The ceremony must also take place in Delaware. Resident as well as non-resident couples who intend to marry within the state of Delaware must obtain the marriage license at least one full day (24 hours) before the ceremony is to take place. The fee for a marriage license in Delaware is $50 if at least one of the applicants is a resident of Delaware. If both parties are non residents of Delaware the fee is $75.
If either party has been married before additional documents will be required. If the marriage was terminated by divorce, a divorce decree must be presented. If the marriage was terminated by death the original copy of the death certificate must be presented at the time of application.
To request a copy of a Delaware marriage certificate, the guidelines are as follows:
Download the Delaware Marriage Certificate application.
Complete the form, including full name of husband and maiden name of wife, birth dates of each, and the date and place the marriage took place.
Make a copy of your official valid photo ID to include with the application.
Mail the form to the Delaware Office of Vital Statistics at the address below, or stop by in person at any of the three vital statistics offices in the state, along with a check or money order for $25.
More information is available through:
Delaware Office of Vital Statistics
417 Federal Street
Dover, DE 19901
Requesting Copies of Delaware Marriage Records
The State of Delaware mandates by law that vital records, such as marriage records, must be recorded and maintained, and this has been in effect since 1913. All vital records recorded since 1913 are stored at the Delaware Public Archives. Any vital record prior to 1913 may be found directly with a County Recorder's office in the county the event took place.
Who May Access Delaware Marriage Records?
Delaware laws restrict access to vital records for a period of time before they become available to the general public. Marriage records may be requested by the parties on the document, a parent, a child, or a legal representative up to 40 years. Proper identification is required. After 40 years, the Delaware marriage record becomes public.
Are Delaware Marriage Records Available Online?
Delaware has partnered with VitalCheck.com to provide online requests for marriage records, but there is an additional fee for using this service.