Information about Georgia marriage records from 1952 to the present are maintained by the state office. Marriages records prior to1952, and after 1996, are obtainable from the county where the marriage license was issued. Certified copies of Georgia marriage records are available to the public. Certified copies of marriage records are helpful to individuals when they need proof of age, or when applying for insurance benefits, citizenship, etc.
Anyone requesting a certified copy of a marriage record must provide the following information: the full name of the Groom, the full name of the Bride, and date and place of marriage.
Copies of marriage records may be obtained in person at the state Vital Records Office or County Probate Court where the marriage application was originally recorded. Requests may also be made by mail. A certified copy of your marriage certificate may be obtained as soon as the marriage license has been returned to the Probate Court by the officiant. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage certificate is $10. Additional copies are $5 each.
Couples who want to be married may apply for a marriage license in any Georgia county. Both parties must appear in person to apply for the marriage license. If at least one party resides in Georgia, the couple can apply for the marriage license in any county they choose. The marriage can also take place in any county in Georgia.
However, if both parties reside outside of Georgia, the ceremony must take place in the county where the application was made. Marriage licenses in Georgia do not expire, however if it is not used within two years, the couple may be required to complete another application and provide valid identification again. In such case the couple will not have to pay any additional fees unless the original marriage license cannot be located.
Couples applying for a marriage license must provide the following identification: a certified birth certificate and a government issued picture ID such as a valid driver's license, valid passport or military ID.
If either party has been previously married, he or she must provide information regarding the divorce unless the previous spouse is deceased.
Parents of applicants who are under the age of 18 years old are required to appear in person at the time of application to give consent for their child to marry. They must provide a certified birth certificate of the underage applicant. Each parents name must appear on the birth certificate. Parents must also provide valid identification and give written consent for their child to marry.
If the couple chooses to attend premarital classes, they will pay only $16 for the marriage license. If they choose not to attend premarital classes they will pay the normal fee of $56. In Georgia the law requires that payment be made before a record or a service is provided. All fees are non-refundable after the service has been provided. Records requested by mail will be sent by first class mail.
If you would like to request a Georgia marriage certificate, follow the instructions below:
Download and save the Marriage Certificate Request form.
Fill out the form in its entirety with the full name of the bride and groom, date of marriage, and place of marriage.
Once you have completed the form, make out a check or money order for $10. You can then either mail the form and payment, or you may also visit the Vital Records office personally.>
Should you require further information, the following office can assist you:
Georgia Office of Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
Where to Find Georgia Marriage Records
Since 1952, all marriage records in the state of Georgia have been stored and maintained at the Vital Records office. Prior to 1952, marriage records may still be found directly with the county Probate Court where the marriage took place.
Who May Obtain Georgia Marriage Certificates?
Marriage certificates are not considered confidential vital records, so Georgia will honor requests for certified marriage licenses to the general public. However, only the bride or groom listed on the license may obtain a full marriage license application copy.
How To Obtain a Georgia Marriage License Copy
Requests for a certified marriage license copy may be made via mail or in person at the state Vital Records office, or they can be made directly with the Probate Court in the county the marriage took place. The fee for a certified marriage license copy is $10.00 payable by certified check or money order.